First Holy Communion

“The Eucharist is the sacramental action of giving thanks and praise to the Father.” “The ultimate act of faith for a Catholic is to receive the bread and wine at Mass and know that it is truly the Body and Blood of Christ.”   ~ J. Springer 2010 p50

It is the practice of the Archdiocese of Sydney that children will receive their First Holy Communion in Year 3. It is to follow the sacrament of Reconciliation. The separation of the two sacraments enables an adequate catechesis on each of the sacraments.

First Holy Communion 2022

Welcome Parents, Carers and candidates!

Jesus is the Bread of Life!

To receive him for the first time we follow a 6-week interactive preparation program involving candidates and parents/carer. Lead by our Parish Priest, Fr. John, we join together with Jesus in this sacrament… to receive him in Holy Communion… not only for the first time, but again and again!

To participate, prepare and receive this sacrament please download, complete and return an enrolment form, from below. Hardcopies can be found in the foyer of our Church.

ELIGIBIITY TO RECEIVE THE SACRAMENT OF FIRST HOLY COMMUNION

  • Your child must be in Year 3 or above in 2022 to receive First Communion.
  • Have received the Sacrament of Baptism and First Reconciliation.

The Enrolment Fee for First Holy Communion 2022 is $50.

(This Fee covers the cost of workbooks, resources.)

FIRST HOLY COMMUNION 2022 – For Children in Year 3 or Older and
who have received the Sacrament of Reconciliation.

Parent information Session: 7pm Monday 1st August 2022
1st lesson: 3:30pm Wednesday 3rd August -or- 3pm Saturday 6th August 2022
2nd lesson: 3:30pm Wednesday 10th August -or- 3pm Saturday 13th August 2022
3rd lesson: 3:30pm Wednesday 17th August -or- 3pm Saturday 20th August 2022
4th lesson: 3:30pm Wednesday 24th August -or- 3pm Saturday 27th August 2022
Rehearsal: 3:30pm Wednesday 31st August -or- 3pm Saturday 3rd September 2022

Sacrament date: 12 pm Sunday 11th September and Sunday 18th September 2022

For more information please contact the Sacramental Team on 9746 6131
– or –
via e-mail on sc@stmarthas.org.au